Updated Monday November 19, 2012 by Winnipeg Minor Basketball Association .

Mike Ruta, the Association’s first President, formed the Winnipeg Minor Basketball Association in the fall of 1997. Mike’s vision was to provide a structured basketball league for Winnipeg area children, open for all to participate. Mike’s vision was carried forth by Lori Black, Dale Gamey, Larry Kabez, Jan Mashinter, Jim Wolfe and Adam Wedlake.

The league tipped off on November 29, 1997 with 40 teams, based out of 12 Community Centers. In its second year, the WMBA boasted 97 teams out of 25 Community Centers and carried on with its first Spring League in April of 1998. The winter league of 2004-2005 saw a record high of 230 teams participate!

In recognition for his accomplishments, Mike was named the Sport Manitoba Volunteer of the Year in 1997 for his tireless efforts and support for a youth basketball program.

Short-term goals of the WMBA include expanding its concepts throughout Winnipeg and continuing with its growth throughout Manitoba.